Bovalina closes in on title

May 19, 2018

Caleb Bovalina is in the box seat to claim the Club Championship with an impressive score of 72 in round three on Saturday.


Caleb Bovalina is in the box seat to claim the Club Championship with an impressive score of 72 in round three on Saturday.

Bovalina has scored 204 from the first three rounds, stretching his lead to 23 with one round remaining.

Michael Cooper is in second place with 227,with Malcolm McKenna and Aaron Dale equal third on 231.

Division One net winner on the day was Phil Nunn 73 followed by Malcolm McKenna 74.

Kevin Waller took Division Two with 72, runner-up went to James Larter (Berrigan GC) 73.

Division Three winner was Alan Leggate 76 followed by Bob Burns 78.

NTPs went to Michael Cooper 2nd, Brian Wilson 18th.

Men’s Gold winner was Allan Penny 75 followed by Lindsay Gilbee 76.

Ladies stroke Division One winner was Anne Beveridge with 78, NTP 2nd Susan Pappas, 18th Janyce Brown.

Michelle Field leads the Ladies Stroke Club Championships, with a score of 73 in the first round last Tuesday.

Lindy Cooper was in second place with 89 on countback from Petra Wilmot.

Field also claimed the net win with 67 followed by Cooper on 76.

Janyce Brown was the Division Two winner with 74 net and runner-up was Wendy Bedford 75.

Division Three went to Gayle Edwards 75 followed by Margaret Anderson 76.

NTPs went to Field 8th, Shellei Clark 17th, Kathleen Garnaud (Pro Pin $52).

Wednesday was men’s stableford with 116 players taking part.

Division One went to Doug Perrett with 40 points on countback from Malcolm McKenna.

Division Two winner was Martin Studwick who had 41 pts on countback from Fred Rossborough while Douglas Carney was the Division Three winner with 43 ahead of Bruce Hadley on 40.

Alan Penny was the Division Four winner with 37 points followed by Neville Attrill 35.

NTPs went to Doug Perrett 14th and 18th.

Sunday was Mother’s Day best three of four stableford which saw Kelly/Mackey/Cooper/Quick with 110 points claim the win.

Second place went to Cavanagh/ Beard/Crothers/Crothers 107 on countback from C.Hart/M.Hart/McCallum/O’Brien.


Barry Wilson had a clean sweep at Sunday’s A&A Harding Monthly Medal.

Wilson scored 92-15-77 to claim the scratch medal, A grade men’s trophy, net medal and the Cock of the Walk title.

Alan Hand, who missed out on the medal after a countback, also scored 77 net to win the B grade men’s trophy.

Joanne Dean with 75 net in the ladies event took the daily trophy along with the net medal.

With 92 off the stick Helen Wastle received the ladies scratch medal with the ladies putting competition going to Janet Delmenico with 29 putts.

NTP on the 18th went to Peter Maher (Gungahlin Lakes) and balls went to Marty Piggin, Janet Delmenico, Barry Fahey, Rick Harris, Ian Daniel, Helen Wastle and Marian Ayres.

The men’s NAGA trophy was picked up once again by Bob Makkinga.

Martin Cruickshank was well in front of the field when he carded 40 stableford points at the men’s 18 hole competition last Wednesday.

Balls went to John Taylor, Rand Wilson and Barry Fahey.

Taylor claimed NTP on the 18th and the Matt Daniel Plumbing NAGA trophy was won by Andrew Higgins.

Taylor survived a countback on 18 points to come out on top and claim the voucher at the Thursday nine hole stableford competition. Rick Harris was runner-up, claiming the ball comp with 18 points.

Alan Hand with 34 stableford points took the Flippa’s Auto Electrics men’s trophy on Saturday.

Nicole Maher (Gungahlin Lakes) with 30 points claimed the ladies trophy.

Leo McNamara was NTP on the 18th and balls went to Grant Shaw, Leo McNamara and Pam Angove. Kellie White and Bob Makkinga picked up NAGA Trophies.

At the weekend it’s the Mixed 4 Ball Qualifier for the WRDGA Championship on Saturday and stableford on Sunday.

Finley Ladies

The North East & Riverina Window Cleaners sponsored Finley Ladies Golf this week and it was well supported in fine weather.

The stableford event was won by Margaret Lemsing with 33 points on a countback.

Runner-up was Glenda McCullough, also on 33 points.

Ball winners: Enid Bain, Kaye Sutton, Janet Delmenico, Glenis Creek and Linda Rendell.

A reminder Finley Ladies Championships starts on Wednesday, May 23.


Sunday’s 18 hole competition was won by Joe Nicholls with 39 points. Runner-up was Chris Kelly with 38 points.

This Sunday is the first round of Club Championships Men’s and Juniors.

The club is very keen for the junior boys and girls to be involved in the championships.

All are welcome and if you have any queries about the competition contact Joe Nicholls on 0427173347.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text